* required
  • Sign up for Thirteen's weekly newsletter
  • I agree to the submission terms and conditions
  • RELEASE / ENGLISH

    For good and valuable consideration, receipt and sufficiency of which is hereby acknowledged, You hereby grant to WLIW L.L.C. (“WLIW”) the irrevocable right to incorporate your submission (the “Work”), in whole or in part, into Italian Americans of New York and New Jersey (the “Project”/including companion materials and ancillary platforms). WLIW may use and license others to use any version of the Project and excerpts and outtakes therefrom in all manner and media, now known or hereafter devised, worldwide without limitation as to time. The foregoing rights shall include the right to use the Work and details or excerpts therefrom for Project packaging and for outreach, Project and institutional promotion, and publicity purposes.

    You represent and warrant that you possess or have obtained the rights in the Work necessary for the grant of this license to WLIW. You further agree to indemnify, defend and hold WLIW, its licensees and assigns, and the Project underwriters harmless from and against any and all claims, damages, costs and expenses, including reasonable attorneys’ fees and expenses, arising out of WLIW’s use of the Work in its broadcast, exhibition, distribution, exploitation, publication, promotion or other use of the Project as provided for in this Release and/or out of any breach or alleged breach of the foregoing warranty.

Sharon Cacopardo-Potter

Kingston, NY

My family came from Siciilly on my father’s side and Naples on my mother’s between 1905 and 1919. One by one they brought family over and settled in upstate NY in Goversville and Johnstown. There were other Italian settlements like this in upstate NY. This was a big leather industry area. My grandfathers worked in the leather mills, and barbershops, and my grandmothers sewed gloves at home while homemaking. My uncle was held back in 1st grade because he only spoke Italian and from that time on none of us were taught the language because we had to learn to fit in. I grew up with Aunts, Uncles, Cousins all living on the same block. They all had gardens with tomatoes, peppers, and eggplants. I was the first in both families to obtain a four year degree and the first woman in our family to get a college degree. The others worked as homemakers. I still travel there for holidays to have time with my Italian relatives.