Update on Federal Funding for Public Broadcasting

March 3rd, 2011

Hundreds of thousands of phone calls and emails to Washington have had an impact!

In a compromise agreement with the Senate, the House of Representatives passed a Continuing Resolution that eliminated $4 billion in federal funding but kept the remaining federal budget intact, including funding for public broadcasting.  The new Continuing Resolution was signed into law by President Obama.

The new Continuing Resolution, however, expires on March 18, 2011.  Further negotiations will continue between the House of Representatives and the Senate on funding beyond March 18th.  We will keep you posted here of new developments or you can go to   www.170millionamericans.org to be kept informed.

If you would like to reach out to your Representative or to your Senators, their phone numbers are listed below.


Representative Rosa DeLauro

Washington, DC Office: 202-225-3661
Local Office: 203-562-3718

Representative Jim Himes

Washington, DC Office: 202-225-5541
Local Office:866-453-0028

Representative Christopher Murphy

Washington, DC Office: 202-225-4476
Local Office: 860-223-8412

Senator Richard Blumenthal

Washington, DC Office: 202-224-2823
State Office:  860-258-6940

Senator Joseph Lieberman

Washington, DC Office: 202-224-4041
State Office:  860-549-8463 or 800-225-5605 (in CT)


New Jersey:

Representative Rodney Frelinghuysen

Washington, DC Office: 202-225-5034
Local Office: 973-984-0711

Representative Scott Garrett

Washington, DC Office: 202-225-4465
Local Office: 201-444-5454

Representative Rush Holt

Washington, DC Office: 202-225-5801
Local Office: 609-750-9365

Representative Leonard Lance

Washington, DC Office: 202-225-5361
Local Office: 908-518-7733

Representative Frank Pallone

Washington, DC Office:202-225-4671
Local Office: 732-571-1140

Representative Bill Pascrell

Washington, DC Office: 202-225-5751
Local Office:  973-523-5152

Representative Donald Payne

Washington, DC Office:    202-225-3436
Local Office: 973-645-3213

Representative Steven Rothman

Washington, DC Office: 202-225-5061
Local Office: 201-646-0808

Representative Albio Sires

Washington, DC Office: 202-225-7919
Local Office: 201-222-2828

Representative Christopher Smith

Washington, DC Office: 202-225-3765
Local Office: 609-585-7878

Senator Frank Lautenberg

Washington, DC Office: 202-224-3224
State Office:  973-639-8700 or 888-398-1642

Senator Robert Menendez

Washington, DC Office: 202-224-4744
State Office: 973-645-3030


New York:

Representative Gary Ackerman

Washington, DC Office: 202-225-2601
Local Office: 718-423-2154

Representative Tim Bishop

Washington, DC Office: 202-225-3826
Local Office: 631-696-6500

Representative Yvette Clarke

Washington, DC Office:  202-225-6231
Local Office: 718-287-1142

Representative Joseph Crowley

Washington, DC Office: 202-225-3965
Local Office: 718-931-1400

Representative Eliot Engel

Washington, DC Office:202-225-2464
Local Office: 718-796-9700

Representative Chris Gibson

Washington, DC Office:    202-225-5614
Local Office: 518-610-8133

Representative Michael Grimm

Washington, DC Office:202-225-3371
Local Office: 718-351-1062

Representative Nan Hayworth

Washington, DC Office:  202-225-5441
Local Office: 845-291-4100

Representative Maurice Hinchey

Washington, DC Office: 202-225-6335
Local Office: 845-344-3211

Representative Steve Israel

Washington, DC Office:  202-225-3335
Local Office: 631-951-2210

Representative Peter King

Washington, DC Office: 202-225-7896
Local Office: 516-541-4225

Representative Nita Lowey

Washington, DC Office: 202-225-6506
Local Office: 914-428-1707

Representative Carolyn Maloney

Washington, DC Office:  202-225-7944
Local Office: 212-860-0606

Representative Carolyn McCarthy

Washington, DC Office: 202-225-5516
Local Office: 516-739-3008

Representative Gregory Meeks

Washington, DC Office:  202-225-3461
Local Office: 718-725-6000

Representative Jerrold Nadler

Washington, DC Office: 202-225-5635
Local Office: 212-367-7350

Representative Charles Rangel

Washington, DC Office:202-225-4365
Local Office: 212-663-3900

Representative José Serrano

Washington, DC Office:   202-225-4361
Local Office: 212-620-0084

Representative Edolphus Towns

Washington, DC Office: 202-225-5936
Local Office:  718-855-8018

Representative Nydia Velázquez

Washington, DC Office: 202-225-2361
Local Office: 718-599-3658

Representative Anthony Weiner

Washington, DC Office: 202-225-6616
Local Office: 718-520-9001

Senator Kirsten Gillibrand

Washington, DC Office: 202-224-4451
State Office: 212-688-6262

Senator Charles Schumer

Washington, DC Office: 202-224-6542
State Office: 212-486-4430