Livestream from Library of Congress: Preserving Public Broadcasting at 50 Years

November 3, 2017

This Friday, November 3, The Library of Congress and THIRTEEN’s fellow PBS station WGBH will celebrate the 50th anniversary of the passage of the Public Broadcasting Act of 1967 with a series of panels featuring pioneers and experts in public broadcasting. Signed by President Lyndon Johnson, the act established public broadcasting as it is organized today and also authorized the Corporation for Public Broadcasting (CPB) to establish and maintain a library and archives of non-commercial educational television and radio programs.

The symposium—“Preserving Public Broadcasting at 50 Years”—will be held in Washington D.C. at the The Library of Congress and livestreamed Friday, November 3, 2-6 PM ET. You can watch below!

The stream is also on the Library’s Facebook page at and its YouTube site (with captions) at During the symposium, panelists will examine the history of public broadcasting, the origins of its news and public affairs programming, the importance of preservation and the educational uses of public broadcasting programs for K-12 and college education, scholarship and adult education. Below is the confirmed program schedule of panelists.

Schedule of Panels

2PM ET –  Introductions and Welcoming Remarks
Carla Hayden, Librarian of Congress
Jon Abbott, President and CEO, WGBH
Patricia Harrison, President and CEO, CPB
Sen. Ed Markey, AAPB adviser

2:15 PM ET – Origins
Nicholas Johnson, FCC commissioner, 1966-73
Bill Siemering, NPR co-founder, creator of “All Things Considered”
Newton Minow, FCC chairman, 1961-63, via video
Cokie Roberts, NPR and MacNeil/Lehrer contributor; AAPB adviser (moderator)

3:10 PM ET –  News and Public Affairs Talk Shows
Jim Lehrer, co-anchor, “MacNeil/Lehrer NewsHour”
Dick Cavett, host of “The Dick Cavett Show,” 1977-1982
Cokie Roberts, NPR and MacNeil/Lehrer contributor; AAPB adviser
Hugo Morales, co-founder, Radio Bilingüe
Sharon Percy Rockefeller, CEO, WETA-TV
Judy Woodruff, “PBS NewsHour” (moderator)

4:10 PM ET – Documentaries: Style and the Use of Archives
David Fanning, creator, “FRONTLINE
Clayborne Carson, founder and director of the Martin Luther King, Jr. Research and Education Institute; senior adviser, “Eyes on the Prize”
Stephen Gong, director, Center for Asian American Media
Margaret Drain, former executive producer of “American Experience
Patricia Aufderheide, university professor of Communication Studies at American University (moderator)

5:10 PM ET –   Educational Uses of Public Broadcasting
Lloyd Morrisett, co-creator, “Sesame Street”
Paula Apsell, executive producer of “NOVA
Kathryn Ostrofsky, instructor, Angelo State University, Department of History
Jennifer Lawson, founding chief programming executive, PBS (moderator)