The Faces of NYC Tech in 2012

June 28, 2012 at 4:00 am

New York City’s tech scene has been building momentum for years. For every boom company, like Kickstarter or Foursquare, there are hundreds of scrappy start-ups, networking organizations and venture capitalists helping the tech ecosystem grow. In 2011, the city unofficially positioned itself as a serious rival of Silicon Valley by announcing an applied sciences campus on Roosevelt Island, led by Cornell University and the Technion-Israel Institute of Technology. To gain entrepreneurial skills, its graduate students will collaborate closely with the city’s leading tech companies.

MetroFocus spoke with some of the city’s rising tech stars about their predictions for how the scene will grow, how they got to where they are today and their advice for people hoping to enter the industry.

Click Image for Slideshow and Insights from the Faces of NYC Tech

From left to right, the faces of tech include: Daniel Huttenlocher, dean of Cornell’s NYC Tech Campus; Christina Cacioppo, investment analyst at Union Square Ventures; Nate Westheimer, executive director of New York Tech Meetup and co-founder of Picturelife; Campbell McKellar, founder of Loosecubes; Dan Porter, CEO of OMGPOP; Kellee Khalil, founder of; Evan Ratliff, co-founder of Atavist; Zach Sims, co-founder of Codecademy; Vipin Goyal, co-founder of Sidetour; Alexa Hirschfeld, co-founder of Paperless Post; Jason Goldberg, founder of; Samantha John and Jocelyn Leavitt, co-founders of Hopscotch; Jon Sukarangsan, president of Party 4 a Cause; Jordan Goldman, founder and CEO of Unigo.

For more technology news, watch “MetroFocus: The Tech Economy,” airing on THIRTEEN on June 30 at 5 a.m. and 7:30 a.m. and July 12 at 8:30 p.m.; on WLIW at 5:30 a.m. on June 30; on NJTV on July 1 at 5:30 a.m. and July 2 at 4:30 a.m.

Share your favorite tech stars on Twitter via #MetroFocus or in the comment section, below.

Mutual of America PSEG


MetroFocus is made possible by James and Merryl Tisch, the Anderson Family Fund, Judy and Josh Weston, Bernard and Irene Schwartz, the Sylvia A. and Simon B. Poyta Programming Endowment to Fight Anti-Semitism, Sue and Edgar Wachenheim III, the Cheryl and Philip Milstein Family, The Dorothy Schiff Endowment for News and Public Affairs Programming, Jody and John Arnhold, Rosalind P. Walter, Ellen and James S. Marcus, the Dr. Robert C. and Tina Sohn Foundation, Laura and Jim Ross.


© 2017 WNET All Rights Reserved.

825 Eighth Avenue

New York, NY 10019